Amy Goodman is a syndicated columnist, host of the news program Democracy Now! and co-author of the New York Times bestselling book Static: Government Liars, Media Cheerleaders, and the People Who Fight Back.

Goodman’s program Democracy Now! is the only news program produced live simultaneously for television and radio. Now celebrating its 10th anniversary year, the show is seen or heard on over 500 stations in the United States—including public radio and public television affiliates—as well as online and on international broadcast outlets. Goodman intends to use the Puffin/Nation Prize funds to continue building the program beyond its current success.

Democracy Now! serves the public interest as all good journalism should—by listening to the voices of those who stand outside the inner circle of politics and industry....I am honored to receive this prize, which will help our program flourish and allow us to continue our work on behalf of the average citizen. -- Amy Goodman

Selected Books and Articles:

Static: Government Liars, Media Cheerleaders, and the People Who Fight Back (Hyperion, 2006)

Going to Where the Silence Is: Interview with Amy Goodman (Yes! Magazine, 2005)

Conversation with Amy Goodman (Wiretap Magazine, 2006)

Laura Flanders Interviews Amy Goodman (Pacifica, 2001)


More Prize Recipients

2012 Recipient
Benjamin Todd Jealous

2011 Recipient
Tony Kushner

2010 Recipients
Cecile Richards
Bill McKibben

2009 Recipient
Jim Hightower

2008 Recipient
Van Jones

2007 Recipient
Michael Ratner

2005 Recipient
Jonathan Kozol

2004 Recipient
Barbara Ehrenreich

2003 Recipient
David Protess

2002 Recipient
Dolores Huerta

2001 Recipient
Robert Parris Moses


Home | The Prize | The Recipients | Nomination Process | Contact Us | Donate
For more information, please call 212.822.0252

© 2007      All rights reserved.