The Ridenhour Prizes

The annual Ridenhour Prizes recognize acts of truth-telling that protect the public interest, promote social justice or illuminate a more just vision of society. These prizes memorialize the spirit of fearless truth-telling that whistleblower and investigative journalist Ron Ridenhour reflected throughout his extraordinary life and career. Each prizes carries a $10,000 stipend.

The Ridenhour Courage Prize is presented to an individual in recognition of his or her courageous and life-long defense of the public interest. Past winners include Daniel Ellsberg, Seymour Hersh, Gloria Steinem, President Jimmy Carter, Bill Moyers, and Bob Herbert. The Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling is presented to a whistleblower or investigative journalist for bringing an issue of social importance to public attention. Past winners include Edward Snowden and Laura Poitras, Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha, Thomas Drake, Kristen Breitweiser, Matthew Diaz, and Thomas Tamm. The Ridenhour Book Prize honors an outstanding work of social significance from the prior publishing year. Past winners include Jill Leovy (Ghettoside), Anand Gopal (No Good Men Among the Living), Adrian Nicole LeBlanc (Random Family), Rajiv Chandrasekaran (Imperial Life in the Emerald City), and Jane Mayer (The Dark Side). The Ridenhour Documentary Film Prize, launched in 2011, is presented to a documentary for illuminating an underreported subject, or raising awareness around an issue of social importance. Past winners include Budrus, CITIZENFOUR, The Look of Silence, and Gideon's Army.

For more information on The Ridenhour Prizes, or to download a nomination form, please visit the website