Honoring Truth-Tellers
      • Print
    • The Ridenhour Prizes

The Ridenhour Committee is now accepting nominations for the Book, Documentary Film, and Truth-Telling Prizes. The annual awards recognize those who persevere in acts of truth-telling that protect the public interest, promote social justice, or illuminate a more just vision for society. 

The Ridenhour Prizes memorialize the spirit of fearless truth-telling that whistleblower and investigative journalist Ron Ridenhour reflected throughout his extraordinary life and career. Each prize carries a $10,000 stipend. The Prizes were jointly founded by the Fertel Foundation and The Nation Institute in 2003.

The Ridenhour Prize for Truth-Telling is awarded to a whistleblower, an investigative journalist, or an organization that has recently brought an important issue to light. Recipients of the truth-telling prize may or may not have a high public profile before winning the award. Candidates cannot currently be holding or seeking public office.

The Ridenhour Book Prize and Documentary Film Prize recognize work that best reflects the legacy of Ron Ridenhour — journalist, whistleblower, truth-teller, and social activist. No particular consideration will be given to the nominated author's/filmmaker's public profile or lack thereof.

You can download the nomination forms here. For more information please visit The Ridenhour Prizes website.

Login / Signup Voice your thoughts

Comments closed

The comments for this story have been closed. Thank you to everyone who participated.