Seeking Nominations for the Puffin Prize
      • Print

The Nation Institute and the Puffin Foundation Seek Nominations for the 2011 Puffin/Nation Prize for Creative Citizenship. This $100,000 award is given to an individual who has challenged the status quo through distinctive, courageous, imaginative and socially responsible work of significance.

Previous winners include Robert Moses, Dolores Huerta, David Protess, Barbara Ehrenreich, Jonathan Kozol, Amy Goodman, Michael Ratner, Van Jones, Jim Hightower, Cecile Richards, and Bill McKibben.

Candidates are found in a range of occupations, including academia, journalism, organizing, public health, environmental sciences, literature, art and the humanities. The prize is intended to encourage the recipients to continue their work and to inspire others to challenge the prevailing orthodoxies they face in their own careers. The recipient must be a US citizen and cannot currently be holding or seeking public office.

Please send us a short paragraph describing your nominee, along with any contact information you may have. Your recommendation will be kept private and will be shared only with the judges of the prize. Please email your nominations by September 12th to

Tags: amy goodman, barbara ehrenreich, bill mckibben, cecile richards, david protess, dolores huerta, jim hightower, jonathan kozol, michael ratner, puffin foundation, puffin prize, robert moses, van jones

Login / Signup Voice your thoughts

Comments closed

The comments for this story have been closed. Thank you to everyone who participated.